Programs, laws and costs in Washington: find a program

How Much Does a Service Dog Cost in Washington? Fees, Grants and Help

Updated · Sources are cited in the text

This page explains the law in general terms. It is not legal advice. For a specific situation, contact the agency listed on this site or an attorney.

If you are asking how much a service dog costs, the honest answer is that it depends on the route you take. A dog placed by a nonprofit can cost the recipient nothing. A dog you train yourself has costs that add up in categories rather than one fixed price. This guide walks you through working out your own number, step by step, and shows where Washington residents can look for help.

Very few Washington programs publish a price, so this article does not invent dollar ranges. Where a program states its cost, we quote it and name the source. Where it does not, you will be told to ask the program directly.

Why service dog costs vary so much

A service dog is a big investment of time before it is ever a purchase. The main cost drivers are:

  • Breeding or sourcing. Programs often raise dogs from carefully planned litters or select them from trusted sources.
  • Training time. Task training commonly takes about 18 to 24 months of steady work.
  • Placement. Matching a dog to a person, teaching the handler, and following up afterward all take staff time.
  • Veterinary care. Health screening, vaccines and ongoing care apply to every dog.

Because those costs are real, many nonprofits cover them through donations and grants and place the dog with the recipient at no charge. That is why the same service can be free from one organization and quite expensive through another route.

What you need before you start

Gather these before you compare options:

  • A short written description of the tasks you need a dog to do. The ADA requires that a service dog be individually trained to do work or tasks directly related to a disability, so this list drives everything else.
  • A notebook or spreadsheet for recording costs and answers from each program.
  • Your veterinarian's contact details, for health and fitness questions.
  • Your veteran status and discharge paperwork, if you have served. Some programs focus on veterans.
  • A list of questions for each organization (included in the steps below).

Step-by-step: finding out what a service dog will cost you

Step 1. Decide between a placed dog and an owner-trained dog

You have two main paths. In the first, a nonprofit trains a dog and places it with you. In the second, you train your own dog, sometimes with help from a trainer. The ADA.gov service animal FAQ from the U.S. Department of Justice says professional training is not required and that people with disabilities may train the dog themselves.

Neither path is automatically better. A placed dog may cost you little money but can involve an application process and waiting. Owner training gives you more control but puts the costs on you.

Step 2. Confirm what counts as a service dog

Under the ADA, as explained on ADA.gov, a service animal is a dog individually trained to do work or perform tasks for a person with a disability. Dogs whose only function is comfort or emotional support do not qualify. Washington's definition in RCW 49.60.040 is similar and also includes miniature horses.

This matters for cost. If a dog is not trained to do tasks, spending money on service dog gear and training for it will not change how the law treats it. Our guide to service dogs in Washington: training, access rights and where they can go covers the legal side in more detail.

Step 3. Check Washington nonprofits that place dogs

The following Washington-based programs are accredited by Assistance Dogs International (ADI), according to ADI's member search. One more program outside the state also serves Washington. Costs below are only those the programs publish.

  • Assistance Dogs Northwest (Bainbridge Island). Places mobility and facility dogs. Its website says assistance dogs and lifetime follow-up support are provided free of charge. It serves Idaho, Oregon and Washington.
  • Canine Companions (serving Washington from its Northwest region in Santa Rosa, California). Places dogs for mobility, hearing, autism, veterans and facility work. Its website states that every service and facility dog is free to those it serves.
  • Brigadoon Service Dogs (Bellingham). Serves veterans, children and adults, including autism, mobility, PTSD and psychiatric needs. Cost is not stated on the page we relied on, so ask the organization directly.
  • Summit Assistance Dogs (Anacortes). Focuses on mobility dogs for Washington, Oregon and Idaho. Check with the program for cost and timelines.
  • Paws for Purple Hearts, Washington (Tacoma). Serves veterans and active-duty military with mobility and military PTSD needs. Ask the program about fees.

None of these programs published a current waitlist length where we looked. Ask each one how long applicants typically wait and what the application involves.

Step 4. Price an owner-trained dog by category

If you will train the dog yourself, list your expected costs by category instead of searching for one total. Common categories include:

  • Acquiring the dog. Adoption fee, breeder price or the cost of evaluating a dog you already own.
  • Veterinary care. Exams, vaccines, spay or neuter, parasite prevention, and health checks for work suitability.
  • Training classes or private sessions. Puppy classes, obedience, public access practice and task training.
  • Equipment. Harness, leash, bed, crate, grooming tools and a vest if you choose to use one. A vest is not required by the ADA.
  • Food and routine supplies. A working dog still eats every day for its whole life.
  • Licensing. The ADA.gov FAQ says service animals are subject to the same local dog licensing and vaccination rules as other dogs. Check your city or county for fees.
  • Replacement and retirement planning. Working lives end, and care for a retired dog continues.

For trainer fees, ask for written rates. Atlas Assistance Dogs (ADI accredited, mailing address in Bellevue) helps people train their own dogs, which must be at least 14 months old. It does not provide trained dogs, and its page says its independent trainers set their own rates, so request pricing from the trainer you choose.

Step 5. Look into veteran-specific help

Veterans have a few extra places to look:

  • U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. The VA does not provide service dogs. Under 38 CFR 17.148, it offers veterinary health care and other benefits for guide dogs and for hearing and mobility service dogs prescribed to veterans with visual, hearing or substantial mobility impairment. To qualify, the dog and veteran must have completed a program from an organization accredited by ADI or another accreditor listed on the VA page. Review the VA's Prosthetics page for the current rules.
  • Paws for Purple Hearts, Washington. Places service dogs with service members and veterans facing mobility and trauma challenges.
  • Brigadoon Service Dogs. Offers a Dogs for Veterans track and places trained dogs with veterans, children and adults.

If you plan to train your own dog and want VA veterinary benefits, read the accreditation requirement carefully first. It may affect which route you choose.

Step 6. Ask every program the same questions

Copy this list into your notebook and ask each organization:

  1. Is there any cost to me, including application, travel, training weekends or equipment?
  2. What disabilities and tasks do you train for?
  3. Do you serve my part of Washington?
  4. How long do applicants typically wait?
  5. What follow-up support is included, and for how long?
  6. What happens if the match does not work out?

Keep the answers side by side. A program that is free to you may still ask you to travel for training, so write down those smaller costs too.

Step 7. Skip anything sold as registration or certification

There is no official service dog registry or required certification under the ADA. The ADA.gov FAQ says online registration or certification documents convey no ADA rights and the Department of Justice does not recognize them. The Washington State Human Rights Commission also says there is no state or federal registry or certification process.

Washington's RCW 49.60.214 bars requiring proof that an animal is certified, trained or licensed as a service animal. So money spent on ID cards, certificates or registry listings buys no legal protection.

Step 8. Build a budget and a backup plan

Add up your categories, then add a cushion for veterinary surprises. If you are applying to a nonprofit, keep a plan for the months you are waiting. If you are training your own dog, decide in advance how you will handle it if the dog turns out not to be suited to the work. Not every dog is, and a good evaluation early on can save months of effort.

Tips for keeping costs manageable

  • Start with the free placements. Apply to programs that state a no-cost policy, and apply to more than one if their rules allow it.
  • Use humane, reward-based trainers. The American Veterinary Society of Animal Behavior (AVSAB) recommends reward-based methods. They are also less likely to create behavior problems that need costly repair later.
  • Get fees in writing. Ask any trainer for a written rate sheet and a description of what the sessions cover.
  • Invest early in health screening. A veterinary check before long training begins can reveal problems that would end a dog's working career.
  • Ask about grants and assistance directly. Some nonprofits help with costs but do not publish the details. Ask what is available before you assume nothing is.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Paying for a certificate or registry. It has no legal weight under the ADA, and it does not replace training.
  • Treating an emotional support animal as a service dog. Under the ADA, a dog whose only role is comfort is not a service animal. The Human Rights Commission notes that emotional support animals can be reasonable accommodations in housing, so the rules differ by setting.
  • Misrepresenting a pet. Washington treats this as a civil infraction under RCW 49.60.214, and RCW 7.80.120 sets the maximum penalty at $500.
  • Assuming a price from one source. Programs differ widely. Confirm costs with the organization itself.
  • Forgetting ongoing costs. Food, veterinary care and gear continue after the dog is trained.
  • Choosing harsh training tools to save time. Shock, prong and choke collars and dominance methods are not part of humane training and can cause lasting harm.

Can a business charge you extra for your service dog?

Under RCW 49.60.215, denying, restricting or charging more because of a person's use of a trained dog guide or service animal is an unfair practice in places of public accommodation. That means a store or restaurant cannot add a pet fee for your service dog. A business can still charge for damage if it customarily charges other people for the same kind of damage.

If you think you were denied access or charged improperly, you can contact the Washington State Human Rights Commission at 1-800-233-3247 or file a complaint online through the Commission's complaint portal. This article explains the law but is not legal advice.

What to expect

With a clear task list and a few conversations, most people can work out a realistic picture of their costs. A placement from a no-cost nonprofit may reduce your direct expenses a great deal, though you should still plan for food, routine care and any travel. An owner-trained dog may cost more up front and spread costs across months or years.

Results vary by person, program and dog. Not every applicant is accepted, and not every dog completes training. Treat the budget you build as an estimate and revisit it as you learn more.

Quick summary

RouteWhat is publishedWhat to ask
Assistance Dogs NorthwestFree of charge, per its websiteWaitlist, travel, eligibility
Canine CompanionsFree of charge, per its websiteWaitlist, regional training requirements
Brigadoon Service DogsCost not statedFees, waitlist, veteran track
Summit Assistance DogsCost not statedFees, waitlist
Paws for Purple Hearts, WashingtonCost not statedFees, eligibility, waitlist
Atlas Assistance Dogs (owner-training help)Independent trainers set their own ratesWritten rates from your trainer
Training your own dogNo fixed priceCosts by category

Sources